3MT (Three Minute Thesis)

Confused about how to start your 3MT presentation?

Watch this for training and inspiration.  

Here are the rules of the competition:

  • A single static PowerPoint slide is permitted. No slide transitions, animations or 'movement' of any description are allowed. The slide is to be presented from the beginning of the oration.
  • No additional electronic media (e.g. sound and video files) are permitted.
  • No additional props (e.g. costumes, musical instruments, laboratory equipment) are permitted.
  • Presentations are limited to 3 minutes maximum and competitors exceeding 3 minutes are disqualified.
  • Presentations are to be spoken word (eg. no poems, raps or songs).
  • Presentations are to commence from the stage.
  • Presentations are considered to have commenced when a presenter starts their presentation through either movement or speech.
  • The decision of the adjudicating panel is final.

In order to be eligible for the university-wide Three Minute Thesis competition on March 5, 2015, students must first participate in a college-level 3MT competition.  Two students from each college will advance to the university-wide competition.  


3MT (or Three Minute Thesis) is a research presentation competition that originated at the University of Queensland in 2008.  Since then, the program has spread to several universities worldwide.  This is the inaugural year for 3MT at BYU, and with active participation this will become an annual opportunity for graduate students.

Students participating in 3MT have three minutes to give a presentation based on their thesis.  Of course, three minutes is not enough time to present an entire thesis, so there is only time for the essentials. For video examples of past 3MT presentations, click here

Individual colleges within BYU will hold their own competitions near the beginning of Winter semester to determine which two competitors (per college) will advance to the university-wide competition, which will be held February 5, 2015.  The competitor who wins first will receive $5,000, second place will receive $2,500, third place will receive $1,500, and the People’s choice will win $1,000.